The King in Yellow, a Musical Parody
by Brad Torres
Brad Torres - Houston, TX
V.25 - Knox United Church 
From one of the creators of Cast Away: a Musical Parody, the talents of award-winning composer Brad Torres are reanimated into a melodic penny dreadful - The King in Yellow: a Musical Parody. The paths of Alec, the poet, the church-going Ambrose and the painter Mr. Scott have never crossed. Nevertheless, something sinister binds their fates, as they try to laugh through the pain of circumstances far beyond their control. "Brad [rose to] the challenge of making a musical from damn-near-impossible source material." - Winnipeg Free Press

Show Info:
60 Mins
Tickets: $12
$10 Matinees, Students, Seniors, Fringe Performers, Kids (12 & Under)

Genre:
Musical

Audience:
Parental Guidance

Warnings: Mild Language

Accessibility: Low Vision / Blind
Wed July 17 10:00 PM
Thu July 18 7:45 PM
Fri July 19 9:30 PM
Sat July 20 4:15 PM
Sun July 21 4:15 PM
Mon July 22 6:00 PM
Tue July 23 9:30 PM
Wed July 24 9:30 PM
Thu July 25 7:45 PM
Fri July 26 6:00 PM
Sat July 27 9:30 PM
Sun July 28 3:00 PM

The King in Yellow, a Musical Parody

Brad Torres—Knox United Church

The King in Yellow is a darkly comic horror musical that takes place all in the dark, and a subtle satire of toxic masculinity to boot. Engaging, entertaining, unpolished and full of promise, this show ran 15 minutes over and I loved every minutes despite all its numerous flaws. This show deserves more love (especially with its cursed venue), and any fan of The King In Yellow and experimental fringe shows should definitely check this out.

Josh Fidelak