The Winnipeg School of Happiness
by Brigette DePape
Petit Pont Productions - Winnipeg, MB
V.22 - MTYP - Richardson Hall 
From the creator of She Rules with Iron Sticks (5 STARS - Planet S, 4 STARS - CBC) is a new coming-of-age play. Elsie's grandpa and best friend just passed away, leaving her too deflated to leave the house. Everything changes when the newbie marathoner finds The Winnipeg School of Happiness.
 
Directed by Erin Meagan Schwartz
With Michael Barkman and Brigette DePape 



Show Info:
60 Mins
Tickets: $10

Audience:
General
No Warnings
Wed July 19 7:45 PM
Thu July 20 9:30 PM
Fri July 21 11:15 PM
Mon July 24 9:30 PM
Tue July 25 11:15 PM
Wed July 26 11:15 PM
Thu July 27 9:30 PM
Fri July 28 11:15 PM
Sat July 29 6:00 PM
Sun July 30 8:30 PM

The Winnipeg School of Happiness

Petit Pont Productions—MTYP – Richardson Hall

What a bizarre play this was. I’m not happy or sad I saw it. The acting was decent and the concept was interesting. I found that the story was a mess and very hard to follow. The play relies a lot of metaphor and symbology however I didn’t find these were obvious or easy to understand. The whole production felt very sloppy and thrown together. I did enjoy two monologues in the show. One following the death of Elsie’s grandfather (this was beautifully acted) as well as the final admittance that happiness looks different for us all. I didn’t hate it but didn’t love it.

Kaitlyn Kriss