Anomie
by Wren Brian
Downside Up Productions - Winnipeg, MB
V.30 - Platform Centre for Photographic + Digital Arts 
"anomie (noun): the lack of the usual social or ethical standards in an individual or group."
When everything is taken away, what's left?
Two people struggle against each other and the empty space they're trapped in to find a way out. Not knowing how or why they ended up in an "abyss", the two search for meaning and understanding in their existence and in their relationship. Riffing on absurdism and existentialism (and not without a dash of humour), this play explores how we deny and deal with meaninglessness.

Cast:
Victoria Hill & Heather Krahn

 
Show Info:
60 Mins
Tickets: $10

Audience:
Parental Guidance
Warnings:Mild language
Wed July 19 7:00 PM
Thu July 20 7:30 PM
Fri July 21 5:30 PM
Sat July 22 10:30 PM
Sun July 23 4:15 PM
Mon July 24 7:30 PM
Tue July 25 4:30 PM
Wed July 26 7:15 PM
Thu July 27 10:30 PM
Fri July 28 9:15 PM
Sat July 29 9:30 PM
Sun July 30 4:30 PM

Anomie

Downside Up Productions—Platform Centre

Thoughtful and introspective, this existential romp examines the meaning of life and being. The play starts mysteriously but soon clues you in on what’s happening. There are spots in the middle that drag a bit but overall, it’s a good effort.

Some questions for thought include, is the grass always greener on the other side? What if there’s no grass? How much would you risk for the chance of gain? What if you lose it all? What if you win and winning is less than nothing? Throw in the horror of loneliness and nothingness and you have a lot of material for discussion.

Are there correct answers to any of these questions? Does anyone know? Nagilum?

Ray Yuen